Author Topic: Personality of Russian Tortoises???  (Read 4716 times)

autumnglory

Personality of Russian Tortoises???
« on: October 31, 2007, 03:46:22 PM »
What exactly IS the personality of a Russian Tortoise like?  I am a newbie... lots of experience with mammals, none with herps, and I'm trying to figure out which is best.  Here's my "scale" of friendliness... where would a RT come in?

0 - Pet rock.  No response to humans at all.
1 - Goldfish.  Recognizes humans, knows they bring food.  No interest otherwise.
2 - Betta.  Recognizes humans, sometimes likes to stare at them, whether or not food is offered.
5 - Gerbils.  Play on you, not with you.  Ask to come out of tank.  Recognize you, but not as an individual.  Like to be held, not so much stroked.
8 - Bearded dragon.  Seems to like people, but maybe it's just a heat thing... but still seems friendly and likes handling and petting.
10 - Cats, dogs, and rats.  Love you, show it in their own way, like to be petted, pine if not given enough attention, see you as another like themselves.

I called a place today and asked how you know if a herp likes you.  I got an, uhhhhh... it doesn't try to bite you.  Gads. 

Thoughts?

~Chris V ???
« Last Edit: October 31, 2007, 05:03:58 PM by autumnglory »

munchkin

• I'm sleepy...
Re: Personality of Russian Tortoises?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2007, 04:06:24 PM »
It really depends on the rt itself.  The first we had was very affectionate, the second not so much.  The third we brought home at a very young age and she is more like a dog that anything else.  She loves to be fed by hand, have her head and chin scratched, loves her shell rubbed, falls asleep curled in my/my son's hand, will come running to the side of her enclosure if she knows you're around and if she doesn't get the attention she feels she deserves she climbs to the top of the log and sulks, looking at you the whole time.